Fundamentals · 2026-09-09S&P 500ANNUAL BASIS

American Tower

AMT stock analysis · Real Estate · Telecom Tower REITs

FY 2025-12-31ANNUAL FILINGS
Compare ⇄
These are research estimates based on annual filings. Valuation uses a cash-flow proxy and explicit assumptions; prices are not live. Published valuations use annual periods first filed by the price date, with later restatements retained.
Reference share price · USD
$163.57HISTORICAL SNAPSHOT

As of · fund-implied per-share value

Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.

View SEC fund filing ↗
Estimated issuer market cap
$76.2B

Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-04-21. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.

View share-count filing ↗
Valuation

DCF value

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Reverse DCF

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Relative valuation

19.0%

26 sector peers · median 35.9×

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Historical multiples

52.8×

7 annual observations · snapshot P/E 30.1× · -43.0% versus history

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Free cash flow yield

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

ROIC / quality

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Value composite

Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.

Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

12–1 price momentum

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Asset growth

3.5%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Net payout yield

4.6%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

Accrual quality

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

Fundamental momentum

-47.9%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗

Follow the cash

ANNUAL · USD

Operating cash flow and reinvestment over time

USD · bar maximum 5.5B2020-12-31: cfo $3,881,400,000.002020-12-31: capex $1,031,700,000.0020202021-12-31: cfo $4,819,900,000.002021-12-31: capex $1,376,700,000.0020212022-12-31: cfo $3,696,200,000.002022-12-31: capex $1,873,600,000.0020222023-12-31: cfo $4,722,400,000.002023-12-31: capex $1,798,100,000.0020232024-12-31: cfo $5,290,500,000.002024-12-31: capex $1,590,000,000.0020242025-12-31: cfo $5,464,000,000.002025-12-31: capex $1,680,400,000.002025
Operating cash flowCapital expenditure

Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.

Make the assumptions yours

Personal inputs stay in this browser. Blank fields retain published inputs. Five-year forecast; zero net borrowing. Required return must exceed terminal growth.

How sensitive is the valuation?

DCF per-share sensitivity · includes reviewed preferred and minority-owner claims · rows: required return · columns: growth
Return / Growth3.0%5.0%7.0%
8.0%
10.0%
12.0%

Annual financial history

Open SEC filings ↗
Fiscal year-endRevenueNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureAssets
2025-12-31935.9M2.6B5.5B1.7B63.2B
2024-12-31774.6M2.3B5.3B1.6B61.1B
2023-12-31747.3M1.4B4.7B1.8B66B
2022-12-31840.7M1.7B3.7B1.9B67.2B
2021-12-31717.2M2.6B4.8B1.4B69.9B
2020-12-31495.7M1.7B3.9B1B47.2B
2019-12-31527.2M1.9B3.8B991.3M42.8B
2018-12-31491.3M1.3B3.7B913.2M33B

USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.

Trace the inputs

MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD
InputValueSEC tag / sourceFiled
revenue935.9MRevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax2026-02-24
netIncome2.6BProfitLoss
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2026-02-24
Parent/common earnings proxy2.5BNetIncomeLossAvailableToCommonStockholdersBasic2026-02-24
cfo5.5BNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities2026-02-24
capex1.7BPaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment2026-02-24
operatingIncome4.8BOperatingIncomeLoss2026-02-24
assets63.2BAssets2026-02-24
equity10.4BStockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2026-02-24
Parent book equity proxy3.7BStockholdersEquity2026-02-24
debt37.2BLongTermDebtAndCapitalLeaseObligationsIncludingCurrentMaturities2026-02-24
shortDebtNot reported under a supported tag
cash1.5BCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue2026-02-24
shares468.8MWeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding2026-02-24
dividends3.2BPaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock2026-02-24
buybacks364.6MPaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock2026-02-24
issuance41.7MReviewed manual correction
Bounded FY2025-12-31 consolidated financing-statement extraction. Proceeds from stock options and employee stock purchase plan: 41700000 USD [us-gaap:ProceedsFromIssuanceOfSharesUnderIncentiveAndShareBasedCompensationPlansIncludingStockOptions]. All 11 financing lines reconcile exactly to reported financing cash flow -4208500000 USD. Cash inflows from common shares, employee plans and option exercises are summed once as displayed on the statement; noncash compensation, withholding payments, preferred and noncontrolling interests are excluded. This review applies only to this issuer and fiscal period. Source limitation: the statement also aggregates other financing cash flows (net -233500000 USD). Their common-equity portion is not separately disclosed here. Issuance is the sum of separately reported common cash-issuance lines, not an independently verified gross total; additional equity flows may be inside those aggregates.
2026-02-24