Fundamentals · 2026-09-09S&P 500ANNUAL BASIS

Becton Dickinson

BDX stock analysis · Health Care · Health Care Equipment

FY 2025-09-30ANNUAL FILINGS
Compare ⇄
These are research estimates based on annual filings. Valuation uses a cash-flow proxy and explicit assumptions; prices are not live. Published valuations use annual periods first filed by the price date, with later restatements retained.
Reference share price · USD
$151.33HISTORICAL SNAPSHOT

As of · fund-implied per-share value

Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.

View SEC fund filing ↗
Estimated issuer market cap
$41.2B

Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-06-30. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.

View share-count filing ↗
Reviewed debt balance

Reviewed consolidated balance-sheet debt: current debt 1560000000 plus noncurrent debt 17621000000, in USD. Includes current borrowings/current maturities already reported in the current debt line; current borrowings are included once in the capital calculation. Uses debt carrying amounts as presented, including financing leases only where included by the issuer; excludes operating leases and trade/insurance liabilities. This is a book-capital proxy, not fair value or a claim that every other liability is financing debt. Applies only to this reviewed fiscal period. Read the financial statement ↗

Valuation

DCF value

$148.88

Equity cash-flow scenario · SEC outstanding shares at 2026-06-30 · -1.6% versus input cap

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Reverse DCF

5.4%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Relative valuation

15.3%

14 industry peers · median 28.3×

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Historical multiples

38.2×

7 annual observations · snapshot P/E 24.6× · -35.7% versus history

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Free cash flow yield

6.5%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

ROIC / quality

4.6%

Normalized tax · financing-capital proxy · parent-equity fallback (scope limitation)

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Value composite

78/100

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

12–1 price momentum

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Asset growth

-3.4%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Net payout yield

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

Accrual quality

-3.1%

Parent-earnings fallback versus consolidated cash flow · scope limitation

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

Fundamental momentum

1.6%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗

Follow the cash

ANNUAL · USD

Operating cash flow and reinvestment over time

USD · bar maximum 4.6B2020-09-30: cfo $3,539,000,000.002020-09-30: capex $769,000,000.0020202021-09-30: cfo $4,647,000,000.002021-09-30: capex $1,194,000,000.0020212022-09-30: cfo $2,471,000,000.002022-09-30: capex $973,000,000.0020222023-09-30: cfo $2,990,000,000.002023-09-30: capex $874,000,000.0020232024-09-30: cfo $3,844,000,000.002024-09-30: capex $725,000,000.0020242025-09-30: cfo $3,430,000,000.002025-09-30: capex $760,000,000.002025
Operating cash flowCapital expenditure

Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.

Make the assumptions yours

Personal inputs stay in this browser. Blank fields retain published inputs. Five-year forecast; zero net borrowing. Required return must exceed terminal growth.

How sensitive is the valuation?

DCF per-share sensitivity · includes reviewed preferred and minority-owner claims · rows: required return · columns: growth
Return / Growth3.0%5.0%7.0%
8.0%$186.74$203.75$222.04
10.0%$136.84$148.88$161.81
12.0%$107.96$117.14$126.99

Annual financial history

Open SEC filings ↗
Fiscal year-endRevenueNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureAssets
2025-09-3021.8B1.7B3.4B760M55.3B
2024-09-3020.2B1.7B3.8B725M57.3B
2023-09-3019.4B1.5B3B874M52.8B
2022-09-3018.9B1.8B2.5B973M52.9B
2021-09-3019.1B2.1B4.6B1.2B53.9B
2020-09-3016.1B874M3.5B769M54B
2019-09-3017.3B1.2B3.3B957M51.8B
2018-09-3016B311M2.9B895M53.9B

USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.

Trace the inputs

MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD
InputValueSEC tag / sourceFiled
revenue21.8BRevenues2025-11-25
netIncome1.7BNetIncomeLoss
Parent-attributable fallback: a verified consolidated total is unavailable in the supported tags. Noncontrolling interests have not been assumed to be zero; this may differ in scope from consolidated cash flow or operating income.
2025-11-25
Parent/common earnings proxy1.7BNetIncomeLossAvailableToCommonStockholdersBasic2025-11-25
cfo3.4BNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivitiesContinuingOperations2025-11-25
capex760MPaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment2025-11-25
operatingIncome2.6BOperatingIncomeLoss2025-11-25
assets55.3BAssets2025-11-25
equity25.4BStockholdersEquity
Parent-attributable fallback: a verified consolidated total is unavailable in the supported tags. Noncontrolling interests have not been assumed to be zero; this may differ in scope from consolidated cash flow or operating income.
2025-11-25
Parent book equity proxy25.4BStockholdersEquity2025-11-25
debt19.2BReviewed manual correction
Reviewed consolidated balance-sheet debt: current debt 1560000000 plus noncurrent debt 17621000000, in USD. Includes current borrowings/current maturities already reported in the current debt line; current borrowings are included once in the capital calculation. Uses debt carrying amounts as presented, including financing leases only where included by the issuer; excludes operating leases and trade/insurance liabilities. This is a book-capital proxy, not fair value or a claim that every other liability is financing debt. Applies only to this reviewed fiscal period.
2025-11-25
shortDebtNot reported under a supported tag
cash641MCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue2025-11-25
shares288.5MWeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding2025-11-25
dividends1.2BPaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock2025-11-25
buybacks1BPaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock2025-11-25
issuanceNot reported under a supported tag