Fundamentals · 2026-09-09S&P 500ANNUAL BASIS

BNY Mellon

BNY stock analysis · Financials · Asset Management & Custody Banks

FY 2025-12-31ANNUAL FILINGS
Compare ⇄
These are research estimates based on annual filings. Valuation uses a cash-flow proxy and explicit assumptions; prices are not live. Published valuations use annual periods first filed by the price date, with later restatements retained.
Reference share price · USD
$144.61HISTORICAL SNAPSHOT

As of · fund-implied per-share value

Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.

View SEC fund filing ↗
Estimated issuer market cap
$98.1B

Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-06-30. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.

View share-count filing ↗
Valuation

DCF value

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Reverse DCF

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Relative valuation

8.5%

9 industry peers · median 20.1×

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Historical multiples

16.9×

7 annual observations · snapshot P/E 18.5× · 9.7% versus history

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Free cash flow yield

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

ROIC / quality

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Value composite

Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.

Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

12–1 price momentum

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Asset growth

13.5%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Net payout yield

5.1%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

Accrual quality

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

Fundamental momentum

Requires two adjacent years of revenue, operating income and cash flow.

Requires two adjacent years of revenue, operating income and cash flow.

How this is calculated ↗

Follow the cash

ANNUAL · USD

Operating cash flow and reinvestment over time

USD · bar maximum 15.1B2020-12-31: cfo $5,038,000,000.002020-12-31: capex $1,222,000,000.0020202021-12-31: cfo $2,838,000,000.002021-12-31: capex $1,215,000,000.0020212022-12-31: cfo $15,068,000,000.002022-12-31: capex $1,346,000,000.0020222023-12-31: cfo $5,912,000,000.002023-12-31: capex $1,220,000,000.0020232024-12-31: cfo $687,000,000.002024-12-31: capex $1,469,000,000.0020242025-12-31: cfo $6,730,000,000.002025-12-31: capex $1,553,000,000.002025
Operating cash flowCapital expenditure

Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.

Make the assumptions yours

Personal inputs stay in this browser. Blank fields retain published inputs. Five-year forecast; zero net borrowing. Required return must exceed terminal growth.

How sensitive is the valuation?

DCF per-share sensitivity · includes reviewed preferred and minority-owner claims · rows: required return · columns: growth
Return / Growth3.0%5.0%7.0%
8.0%
10.0%
12.0%

Annual financial history

Open SEC filings ↗
Fiscal year-endRevenueNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureAssets
2025-12-3120.1B5.6B6.7B1.6B472.3B
2024-12-3118.6B4.5B687M1.5B416.1B
2023-12-3117.7B3.3B5.9B1.2B409.9B
2022-12-3116.5B2.5B15.1B1.3B405.6B
2021-12-3115.9B3.8B2.8B1.2B444.4B
2020-12-3115.8B3.6B5B1.2B469.6B
2019-12-3116.5B4.5B96M1.2B381.5B
2018-12-3116.4B4.3B6B1.1B362.9B

USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.

Trace the inputs

MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD
InputValueSEC tag / sourceFiled
revenue20.1BRevenues2026-02-25
netIncome5.6BProfitLoss
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2026-02-25
Parent/common earnings proxy5.3BNetIncomeLossAvailableToCommonStockholdersBasic2026-02-25
cfo6.7BNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities2026-02-25
capex1.6BPaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment2026-02-25
operatingIncomeNot reported under a supported tag
assets472.3BAssets2026-02-25
equity44.7BStockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2026-02-25
Parent book equity proxy44.3BStockholdersEquity2026-02-25
debt31.9BLongTermDebt2026-02-25
shortDebtNot reported under a supported tag
cash5.1BCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue2026-02-25
shares716.7MWeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding2026-02-25
dividends1.4BPaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock2026-02-25
buybacks3.5BPaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock2026-02-25
issuance19MProceedsFromIssuanceOfCommonStock2026-02-25