Caterpillar Inc.
CAT stock analysis · Industrials · Construction Machinery & Heavy Transportation Equipment
As of · fund-implied per-share value
Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.
View SEC fund filing ↗Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-06-30. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.
View share-count filing ↗DCF value
Equity cash-flow scenario · SEC outstanding shares at 2026-06-30 · -72.3% versus input cap
How this is calculated ↗Reverse DCF
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Relative valuation
76 sector peers · median 30.9×
How this is calculated ↗Historical multiples
7 annual observations · snapshot P/E 55.1× · 150.2% versus history
How this is calculated ↗Free cash flow yield
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗ROIC / quality
Requires two adjacent years of positive average capital, equity, cash, debt and operating income.
How this is calculated ↗Value composite
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗12–1 price momentum
Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.
How this is calculated ↗Asset growth
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Net payout yield
Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.
How this is calculated ↗Accrual quality
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Fundamental momentum
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Follow the cash
ANNUAL · USDOperating cash flow and reinvestment over time
Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.
Make the assumptions yours
How sensitive is the valuation?
| Return / Growth | 3.0% | 5.0% | 7.0% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8.0% | $369.60 | $403.27 | $439.47 |
| 10.0% | $270.84 | $294.67 | $320.26 |
| 12.0% | $213.67 | $231.85 | $251.35 |
Annual financial history
Open SEC filings ↗| Fiscal year-end | Revenue | Net income | Operating cash flow | Capital expenditure | Assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | 67.6B | 8.9B | 11.7B | 2.8B | 98.6B |
| 2024-12-31 | 64.8B | 10.8B | 12B | 2B | 87.8B |
| 2023-12-31 | 67.1B | 10.3B | 12.9B | 1.6B | 87.5B |
| 2022-12-31 | 59.4B | 6.7B | 7.8B | 1.3B | 81.9B |
| 2021-12-31 | 51B | 6.5B | 7.2B | 1.1B | 82.8B |
| 2020-12-31 | 41.7B | 3B | 6.3B | 978M | 78.3B |
| 2019-12-31 | 53.8B | 6.1B | 6.9B | 1.1B | 78.5B |
| 2018-12-31 | 54.7B | 6.1B | 6.6B | 1.3B | 78.5B |
USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.
Trace the inputs
MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD| Input | Value | SEC tag / source | Filed |
|---|---|---|---|
| revenue | 67.6B | Revenues | 2026-02-13 |
| netIncome | 8.9B | ProfitLoss Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests. | 2026-02-13 |
| Parent/common earnings proxy | 8.9B | NetIncomeLossAvailableToCommonStockholdersBasic | 2026-02-13 |
| cfo | 11.7B | NetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities | 2026-02-13 |
| capex | 2.8B | PaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment | 2026-02-13 |
| operatingIncome | 11.2B | OperatingIncomeLoss | 2026-02-13 |
| assets | 98.6B | Assets | 2026-02-13 |
| equity | 21.3B | StockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests. | 2026-02-13 |
| Parent book equity proxy | 21.3B | StockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest − MinorityInterest Parent stockholders' equity derived by removing explicitly reported noncontrolling interests; preferred equity may remain included. | 2026-02-13 |
| debt | — | Not reported under a supported tag | — |
| shortDebt | 5.5B | ShortTermBorrowings | 2026-02-13 |
| cash | 10B | CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue | 2026-02-13 |
| shares | 472.3M | WeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding | 2026-02-13 |
| dividends | 2.7B | PaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock | 2026-02-13 |
| buybacks | 5.2B | PaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock | 2026-02-13 |
| issuance | — | Not reported under a supported tag | — |