Fundamentals · 2026-09-09S&P 500ANNUAL BASIS

Costco

COST stock analysis · Consumer Staples · Consumer Staples Merchandise Retail

FY 2025-08-31ANNUAL FILINGS
Compare ⇄
These are research estimates based on annual filings. Valuation uses a cash-flow proxy and explicit assumptions; prices are not live. Published valuations use annual periods first filed by the price date, with later restatements retained.
Reference share price · USD
$935.47HISTORICAL SNAPSHOT

As of · fund-implied per-share value

Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.

View SEC fund filing ↗
Estimated issuer market cap
$414.9B

Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-05-27. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.

View share-count filing ↗
Valuation

DCF value

$268.41

Equity cash-flow scenario · SEC outstanding shares at 2026-05-27 · -71.3% versus input cap

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Reverse DCF

38.0%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Relative valuation

-53.8%

26 sector peers · median 23.7×

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Historical multiples

47.3×

7 annual observations · snapshot P/E 51.2× · 8.4% versus history

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Free cash flow yield

1.9%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

ROIC / quality

40.6%

Normalized tax · financing-capital proxy · short-term borrowing coverage incomplete

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Value composite

10/100

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

12–1 price momentum

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Asset growth

10.4%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Net payout yield

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

Accrual quality

-7.1%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

Fundamental momentum

2.9%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗

Follow the cash

ANNUAL · USD

Operating cash flow and reinvestment over time

USD · bar maximum 13.3B2020-08-30: cfo $8,861,000,000.002020-08-30: capex $2,810,000,000.0020202021-08-29: cfo $8,958,000,000.002021-08-29: capex $3,588,000,000.0020212022-08-28: cfo $7,392,000,000.002022-08-28: capex $3,891,000,000.0020222023-09-03: cfo $11,068,000,000.002023-09-03: capex $4,323,000,000.0020232024-09-01: cfo $11,339,000,000.002024-09-01: capex $4,710,000,000.0020242025-08-31: cfo $13,335,000,000.002025-08-31: capex $5,498,000,000.002025
Operating cash flowCapital expenditure

Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.

Make the assumptions yours

Personal inputs stay in this browser. Blank fields retain published inputs. Five-year forecast; zero net borrowing. Required return must exceed terminal growth.

How sensitive is the valuation?

DCF per-share sensitivity · includes reviewed preferred and minority-owner claims · rows: required return · columns: growth
Return / Growth3.0%5.0%7.0%
8.0%$336.66$367.33$400.30
10.0%$246.70$268.41$291.71
12.0%$194.63$211.19$228.95

Annual financial history

Open SEC filings ↗
Fiscal year-endRevenueNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureAssets
2025-08-31275.2B8.1B13.3B5.5B77.1B
2024-09-01254.5B7.4B11.3B4.7B69.8B
2023-09-03242.3B6.3B11.1B4.3B69B
2022-08-28227B5.9B7.4B3.9B64.2B
2021-08-29195.9B5.1B9B3.6B59.3B
2020-08-30166.8B4.1B8.9B2.8B55.6B
2019-09-01152.7B3.7B6.4B3B45.4B
2018-09-02141.6B3.2B5.8B3B40.8B

USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.

Trace the inputs

MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD
InputValueSEC tag / sourceFiled
revenue275.2BRevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax2025-10-08
netIncome8.1BProfitLoss
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2025-10-08
Parent/common earnings proxy8.1BNetIncomeLoss2025-10-08
cfo13.3BNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities2025-10-08
capex5.5BPaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment2025-10-08
operatingIncome10.4BOperatingIncomeLoss2025-10-08
assets77.1BAssets2025-10-08
equity29.2BStockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2025-10-08
Parent book equity proxy29.2BStockholdersEquity2025-10-08
debt5.8BLongTermDebtCurrent + LongTermDebtNoncurrent2025-10-08
shortDebtNot reported under a supported tag
cash14.2BCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue2025-10-08
shares444.8MWeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding2025-10-08
dividends2.2BPaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock2025-10-08
buybacks903MPaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock2025-10-08
issuanceNot reported under a supported tag