Fundamentals · 2026-09-09S&P 500ANNUAL BASIS

Ecolab

ECL stock analysis · Materials · Specialty Chemicals

FY 2025-12-31ANNUAL FILINGS
Compare ⇄
These are research estimates based on annual filings. Valuation uses a cash-flow proxy and explicit assumptions; prices are not live. Published valuations use annual periods first filed by the price date, with later restatements retained.
Reference share price · USD
$278.61HISTORICAL SNAPSHOT

As of · fund-implied per-share value

Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.

View SEC fund filing ↗
Estimated issuer market cap
$78.1B

Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-06-30. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.

View share-count filing ↗
Valuation

DCF value

$103.18

Equity cash-flow scenario · SEC outstanding shares at 2026-06-30 · -63.0% versus input cap

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Reverse DCF

30.7%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Relative valuation

-24.3%

18 sector peers · median 28.5×

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Historical multiples

38.6×

6 annual observations · snapshot P/E 37.6× · -2.6% versus history

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Free cash flow yield

2.4%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

ROIC / quality

13.4%

Normalized tax · financing-capital proxy · short-term borrowing coverage incomplete

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Value composite

22/100

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

12–1 price momentum

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Asset growth

10.3%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Net payout yield

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

Accrual quality

-3.7%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

Fundamental momentum

0.6%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗

Follow the cash

ANNUAL · USD

Operating cash flow and reinvestment over time

USD · bar maximum 3B2020-12-31: cfo $1,860,200,000.002020-12-31: capex $489,000,000.0020202021-12-31: cfo $2,061,900,000.002021-12-31: capex $643,000,000.0020212022-12-31: cfo $1,788,400,000.002022-12-31: capex $712,800,000.0020222023-12-31: cfo $2,411,800,000.002023-12-31: capex $774,800,000.0020232024-12-31: cfo $2,813,900,000.002024-12-31: capex $994,500,000.0020242025-12-31: cfo $2,952,600,000.002025-12-31: capex $1,048,300,000.002025
Operating cash flowCapital expenditure

Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.

Make the assumptions yours

Personal inputs stay in this browser. Blank fields retain published inputs. Five-year forecast; zero net borrowing. Required return must exceed terminal growth.

How sensitive is the valuation?

DCF per-share sensitivity · includes reviewed preferred and minority-owner claims · rows: required return · columns: growth
Return / Growth3.0%5.0%7.0%
8.0%$129.41$141.20$153.88
10.0%$94.83$103.18$112.14
12.0%$74.82$81.18$88.01

Annual financial history

Open SEC filings ↗
Fiscal year-endRevenueNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureAssets
2025-12-3116.1B2.1B3B1B24.7B
2024-12-3115.7B2.1B2.8B994.5M22.4B
2023-12-3115.3B1.4B2.4B774.8M21.8B
2022-12-3114.2B1.1B1.8B712.8M21.5B
2021-12-3112.7B1.1B2.1B643M21.2B
2020-12-3111.8B-1.2B1.9B489M18.1B
2019-12-3112.6B1.6B2.4B731.3M20.9B
2018-12-3112.2B1.4B2.3B778.7M20.1B

USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.

Trace the inputs

MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD
InputValueSEC tag / sourceFiled
revenue16.1BRevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax2026-02-23
netIncome2.1BProfitLoss
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2026-02-23
Parent/common earnings proxy2.1BNetIncomeLoss2026-02-23
cfo3BNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities2026-02-23
capex1BPaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment2026-02-23
operatingIncome2.7BOperatingIncomeLoss2026-02-23
assets24.7BAssets2026-02-23
equity9.8BStockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2026-02-23
Parent book equity proxy9.8BStockholdersEquity2026-02-23
debt8.1BLongTermDebtAndCapitalLeaseObligationsCurrent + LongTermDebtAndCapitalLeaseObligations2026-02-23
shortDebtNot reported under a supported tag
cash646.2MCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue2026-02-23
shares285.2MWeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding2026-02-23
dividends753.6MPaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock2026-02-23
buybacks783.8MPaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock2026-02-23
issuanceNot reported under a supported tag