Fundamentals · 2026-09-09S&P 500ANNUAL BASIS

Essex Property Trust

ESS stock analysis · Real Estate · Multi-Family Residential REITs

FY 2025-12-31ANNUAL FILINGS
Compare ⇄
These are research estimates based on annual filings. Valuation uses a cash-flow proxy and explicit assumptions; prices are not live. Published valuations use annual periods first filed by the price date, with later restatements retained.
Reference share price · USD
$291.59HISTORICAL SNAPSHOT

As of · fund-implied per-share value

Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.

View SEC fund filing ↗
Estimated issuer market cap
$18.7B

Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-06-30. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.

View share-count filing ↗
Valuation

DCF value

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Reverse DCF

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Relative valuation

28.2%

26 sector peers · median 35.9×

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Historical multiples

35.1×

7 annual observations · snapshot P/E 28.0× · -20.3% versus history

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Free cash flow yield

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

ROIC / quality

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Value composite

Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.

Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

12–1 price momentum

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Asset growth

1.8%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Net payout yield

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

Accrual quality

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

Fundamental momentum

1258.1%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗

Follow the cash

ANNUAL · USD

Operating cash flow and reinvestment over time

USD · bar maximum 1.1B2020-12-31: cfo $803,108,000.0020202021-12-31: cfo $905,259,000.0020212022-12-31: cfo $975,649,000.0020222023-12-31: cfo $980,064,000.0020232024-12-31: cfo $1,068,305,000.0020242025-12-31: cfo $1,074,423,000.002025
Operating cash flowCapital expenditure

Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.

Make the assumptions yours

Personal inputs stay in this browser. Blank fields retain published inputs. Five-year forecast; zero net borrowing. Required return must exceed terminal growth.

How sensitive is the valuation?

DCF per-share sensitivity · includes reviewed preferred and minority-owner claims · rows: required return · columns: growth
Return / Growth3.0%5.0%7.0%
8.0%
10.0%
12.0%

Annual financial history

Open SEC filings ↗
Fiscal year-endRevenueNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureAssets
2025-12-319.4M702.8M1.1B13.2B
2024-12-3110.3M811.3M1.1B12.9B
2023-12-3111.1M430.7M980.1M12.4B
2022-12-3111.1M433M975.6M12.4B
2021-12-319.1M515.7M905.3M13B
2020-12-319.6M599.3M803.1M12.9B
2019-12-319.5M464.4M919.1M12.7B
2018-12-319.2M413.6M826.6M12.4B

USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.

Trace the inputs

MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD
InputValueSEC tag / sourceFiled
revenue9.4MRevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax2026-02-20
netIncome702.8MProfitLoss
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2026-02-20
Parent/common earnings proxy669.7MNetIncomeLossAvailableToCommonStockholdersBasic2026-02-20
cfo1.1BNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities2026-02-20
capexNot reported under a supported tag
operatingIncome899.3MOperatingIncomeLoss2026-02-20
assets13.2BAssets2026-02-20
equity5.7BStockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2026-02-20
Parent book equity proxy5.5BStockholdersEquity2026-02-20
debtNot reported under a supported tag
shortDebtNot reported under a supported tag
cash76.2MCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue2026-02-20
shares64.4MWeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding2026-02-20
dividendsNot reported under a supported tag
buybacks0PaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock2026-02-20
issuance-391KProceedsFromIssuanceOfCommonStock2026-02-20