Fundamentals · 2026-09-09S&P 500ANNUAL BASIS

Extra Space Storage

EXR stock analysis · Real Estate · Self-Storage REITs

FY 2025-12-31ANNUAL FILINGS
Compare ⇄
These are research estimates based on annual filings. Valuation uses a cash-flow proxy and explicit assumptions; prices are not live. Published valuations use annual periods first filed by the price date, with later restatements retained.
Reference share price · USD
$145.30HISTORICAL SNAPSHOT

As of · fund-implied per-share value

Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.

View SEC fund filing ↗
Estimated issuer market cap
$30.7B

Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-06-30. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.

View share-count filing ↗
Valuation

DCF value

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Reverse DCF

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Relative valuation

13.6%

26 sector peers · median 35.9×

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Historical multiples

36.3×

7 annual observations · snapshot P/E 31.6× · -13.0% versus history

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Free cash flow yield

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

ROIC / quality

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Value composite

Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.

Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

12–1 price momentum

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Asset growth

1.4%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Net payout yield

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

Accrual quality

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

Fundamental momentum

-43.2%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗

Follow the cash

ANNUAL · USD

Operating cash flow and reinvestment over time

USD · bar maximum 1.9B2020-12-31: cfo $771,232,000.0020202021-12-31: cfo $952,436,000.0020212022-12-31: cfo $1,238,139,000.002022-12-31: capex $1,193,261,000.0020222023-12-31: cfo $1,402,474,000.002023-12-31: capex $135,577,000.0020232024-12-31: cfo $1,887,430,000.002024-12-31: capex $479,059,000.0020242025-12-31: cfo $1,850,193,000.002025-12-31: capex $561,723,000.002025
Operating cash flowCapital expenditure

Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.

Make the assumptions yours

Personal inputs stay in this browser. Blank fields retain published inputs. Five-year forecast; zero net borrowing. Required return must exceed terminal growth.

How sensitive is the valuation?

DCF per-share sensitivity · includes reviewed preferred and minority-owner claims · rows: required return · columns: growth
Return / Growth3.0%5.0%7.0%
8.0%
10.0%
12.0%

Annual financial history

Open SEC filings ↗
Fiscal year-endRevenueNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureAssets
2025-12-31129.5M1B1.9B561.7M29.3B
2024-12-31120.9M900.2M1.9B479.1M28.8B
2023-12-31102M850.5M1.4B135.6M27.5B
2022-12-3183.9M921.2M1.2B1.2B12.2B
2021-12-3166.3M877.8M952.4M10.5B
2020-12-3152.1M517.6M771.2M9.4B
2019-12-3149.9M451.1M707.7M8.5B
2018-12-3141.8M447.1M677.8M7.8B

USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.

Trace the inputs

MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD
InputValueSEC tag / sourceFiled
revenue129.5MRevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax2026-02-20
netIncome1BProfitLoss
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2026-02-20
Parent/common earnings proxy972.3MNetIncomeLossAvailableToCommonStockholdersBasic2026-02-20
cfo1.9BNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities2026-02-20
capex561.7MPaymentsToAcquireProductiveAssets2026-02-20
operatingIncome1.4BOperatingIncomeLoss2026-02-20
assets29.3BAssets2026-02-20
equity14.3BStockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2026-02-20
Parent book equity proxy13.4BStockholdersEquity2026-02-20
debtNot reported under a supported tag
shortDebtNot reported under a supported tag
cash138.9MCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue2026-02-20
shares211.9MWeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding2026-02-20
dividends1.4BPaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock2026-02-20
buybacks149.5MPaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock2026-02-20
issuanceNot reported under a supported tag