Fundamentals · 2026-09-09S&P 500ANNUAL BASIS

Hartford (The)

HIG stock analysis · Financials · Property & Casualty Insurance

FY 2025-12-31ANNUAL FILINGS
Compare ⇄
These are research estimates based on annual filings. Valuation uses a cash-flow proxy and explicit assumptions; prices are not live. Published valuations use annual periods first filed by the price date, with later restatements retained.
Reference share price · USD
$132.52HISTORICAL SNAPSHOT

As of · fund-implied per-share value

Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.

View SEC fund filing ↗
Estimated issuer market cap
$36.3B

Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-04-22. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.

View share-count filing ↗
Valuation

DCF value

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Reverse DCF

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Relative valuation

18.5%

7 industry peers · median 11.3×

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Historical multiples

12.4×

7 annual observations · snapshot P/E 9.5× · -23.4% versus history

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Free cash flow yield

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

ROIC / quality

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Value composite

Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.

Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

12–1 price momentum

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Asset growth

6.3%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Net payout yield

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

Accrual quality

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

Fundamental momentum

Requires two adjacent years of revenue, operating income and cash flow.

Requires two adjacent years of revenue, operating income and cash flow.

How this is calculated ↗

Follow the cash

ANNUAL · USD

Operating cash flow and reinvestment over time

USD · bar maximum 5.9B2020-12-31: cfo $3,871,000,000.002020-12-31: capex $114,000,000.0020202021-12-31: cfo $4,093,000,000.002021-12-31: capex $133,000,000.0020212022-12-31: cfo $4,008,000,000.002022-12-31: capex $175,000,000.0020222023-12-31: cfo $4,220,000,000.002023-12-31: capex $215,000,000.0020232024-12-31: cfo $5,909,000,000.002024-12-31: capex $145,000,000.0020242025-12-31: cfo $5,922,000,000.002025-12-31: capex $169,000,000.002025
Operating cash flowCapital expenditure

Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.

Make the assumptions yours

Personal inputs stay in this browser. Blank fields retain published inputs. Five-year forecast; zero net borrowing. Required return must exceed terminal growth.

How sensitive is the valuation?

DCF per-share sensitivity · includes reviewed preferred and minority-owner claims · rows: required return · columns: growth
Return / Growth3.0%5.0%7.0%
8.0%
10.0%
12.0%

Annual financial history

Open SEC filings ↗
Fiscal year-endRevenueNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureAssets
2025-12-311.5B3.8B5.9B169M86B
2024-12-311.5B3.1B5.9B145M80.9B
2023-12-311.4B2.5B4.2B215M76.8B
2022-12-311.4B1.8B4B175M73B
2021-12-311.6B2.4B4.1B133M76.6B
2020-12-311.4B1.7B3.9B114M74.1B
2019-12-311.4B2.1B3.5B105M70.8B
2018-12-311.4B1.8B2.8B122M62.3B

USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.

Trace the inputs

MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD
InputValueSEC tag / sourceFiled
revenue1.5BRevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax2026-02-20
netIncome3.8BNetIncomeLoss
Parent-attributable fallback: a verified consolidated total is unavailable in the supported tags. Noncontrolling interests have not been assumed to be zero; this may differ in scope from consolidated cash flow or operating income.
2026-02-20
Parent/common earnings proxy3.8BNetIncomeLossAvailableToCommonStockholdersBasic2026-02-20
cfo5.9BNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities2026-02-20
capex169MPaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment2026-02-20
operatingIncomeNot reported under a supported tag
assets86BAssets2026-02-20
equity19BStockholdersEquity
Parent-attributable fallback: a verified consolidated total is unavailable in the supported tags. Noncontrolling interests have not been assumed to be zero; this may differ in scope from consolidated cash flow or operating income.
2026-02-20
Parent book equity proxy19BStockholdersEquity2026-02-20
debt4.4BLongTermDebt2026-02-20
shortDebtNot reported under a supported tag
cash177MCashCashEquivalentsRestrictedCashAndRestrictedCashEquivalents2026-02-20
shares286.5MWeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding2026-02-20
dividends592MPaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock2026-02-20
buybacks1.6BPaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock2026-02-20
issuanceNot reported under a supported tag