Fundamentals · 2026-09-09S&P 500ANNUAL BASIS

Illinois Tool Works

ITW stock analysis · Industrials · Industrial Machinery & Supplies & Components

FY 2025-12-31ANNUAL FILINGS
Compare ⇄
These are research estimates based on annual filings. Valuation uses a cash-flow proxy and explicit assumptions; prices are not live. Published valuations use annual periods first filed by the price date, with later restatements retained.
Reference share price · USD
$270.47HISTORICAL SNAPSHOT

As of · fund-implied per-share value

Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.

View SEC fund filing ↗
Estimated issuer market cap
$77B

Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-06-30. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.

View share-count filing ↗
Valuation

DCF value

$144.37

Equity cash-flow scenario · SEC outstanding shares at 2026-06-30 · -46.6% versus input cap

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Reverse DCF

20.8%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Relative valuation

Requires market caps for at least five comparable profitable issuers.

Requires market caps for at least five comparable profitable issuers.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Historical multiples

Requires three annual historical market caps and eligible filed earnings.

Requires three annual historical market caps and eligible filed earnings.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Free cash flow yield

3.5%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

ROIC / quality

34.1%

Normalized tax · financing-capital proxy · short-term borrowing coverage incomplete

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Value composite

Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.

Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

12–1 price momentum

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Asset growth

7.2%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Net payout yield

4.2%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

Accrual quality

-0.4%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

Fundamental momentum

-0.3%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗

Follow the cash

ANNUAL · USD

Operating cash flow and reinvestment over time

USD · bar maximum 3.5B2020-12-31: cfo $2,807,000,000.002020-12-31: capex $236,000,000.0020202021-12-31: cfo $2,557,000,000.002021-12-31: capex $296,000,000.0020212022-12-31: cfo $2,348,000,000.002022-12-31: capex $412,000,000.0020222023-12-31: cfo $3,539,000,000.002023-12-31: capex $455,000,000.0020232024-12-31: cfo $3,281,000,000.002024-12-31: capex $437,000,000.0020242025-12-31: cfo $3,126,000,000.002025-12-31: capex $419,000,000.002025
Operating cash flowCapital expenditure

Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.

Make the assumptions yours

Personal inputs stay in this browser. Blank fields retain published inputs. Five-year forecast; zero net borrowing. Required return must exceed terminal growth.

How sensitive is the valuation?

DCF per-share sensitivity · includes reviewed preferred and minority-owner claims · rows: required return · columns: growth
Return / Growth3.0%5.0%7.0%
8.0%$181.08$197.57$215.31
10.0%$132.69$144.37$156.90
12.0%$104.68$113.59$123.14

Annual financial history

Open SEC filings ↗
Fiscal year-endRevenueNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureAssets
2025-12-3116B3.1B3.1B419M16.1B
2024-12-3115.9B3.5B3.3B437M15.1B
2023-12-3116.1B3B3.5B455M15.5B
2022-12-3115.9B3B2.3B412M15.4B
2021-12-3114.5B2.7B2.6B296M16.1B
2020-12-3112.6B2.1B2.8B236M15.6B
2019-12-3114.1B2.5B3B326M15.1B
2018-12-3114.8B2.6B2.8B364M14.9B

USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.

Trace the inputs

MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD
InputValueSEC tag / sourceFiled
revenue16BRevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax2026-02-13
netIncome3.1BProfitLoss
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2026-02-13
Parent/common earnings proxyNot reported under a supported tag
cfo3.1BNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities2026-02-13
capex419MPaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment2026-02-13
operatingIncome4.2BOperatingIncomeLoss2026-02-13
assets16.1BAssets2026-02-13
equity3.2BStockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2026-02-13
Parent book equity proxy3.2BStockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest − MinorityInterest
Parent stockholders' equity derived by removing explicitly reported noncontrolling interests; preferred equity may remain included.
2026-02-13
debt7.7BLongTermDebt2026-02-13
shortDebtNot reported under a supported tag
cash851MCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue2026-02-13
shares292.3MWeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding2026-02-13
dividends1.8BPaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock2026-02-13
buybacks1.5BPaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock2026-02-13
issuance65MProceedsFromIssuanceOfCommonStock2026-02-13