MetLife
MET stock analysis · Financials · Life & Health Insurance
As of · fund-implied per-share value
Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.
View SEC fund filing ↗Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-06-30. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.
View share-count filing ↗DCF value
Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.
How this is calculated ↗Reverse DCF
Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.
How this is calculated ↗Relative valuation
69 sector peers · median 17.1×
How this is calculated ↗Historical multiples
7 annual observations · snapshot P/E 17.0× · 71.1% versus history
How this is calculated ↗Free cash flow yield
Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.
How this is calculated ↗ROIC / quality
Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.
How this is calculated ↗Value composite
Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.
How this is calculated ↗12–1 price momentum
Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.
How this is calculated ↗Asset growth
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Net payout yield
Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.
How this is calculated ↗Accrual quality
Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.
How this is calculated ↗Fundamental momentum
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Follow the cash
ANNUAL · USDOperating cash flow and reinvestment over time
Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.
Make the assumptions yours
How sensitive is the valuation?
| Return / Growth | 3.0% | 5.0% | 7.0% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8.0% | — | — | — |
| 10.0% | — | — | — |
| 12.0% | — | — | — |
Annual financial history
Open SEC filings ↗| Fiscal year-end | Revenue | Net income | Operating cash flow | Capital expenditure | Assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | 2.4B | 3.4B | 17.1B | — | 745.2B |
| 2024-12-31 | 2.2B | 4.4B | 14.6B | — | 677.5B |
| 2023-12-31 | 2.2B | 1.6B | 13.7B | — | 687.6B |
| 2022-12-31 | 2.1B | 5.3B | 13B | — | 663.1B |
| 2021-12-31 | 2.1B | 6.9B | 12.3B | — | 759.7B |
| 2020-12-31 | 1.4B | 5.4B | 11.6B | — | 795.1B |
| 2019-12-31 | 1.3B | 5.9B | 13.8B | — | 740.5B |
| 2018-12-31 | 1.3B | 5.1B | 11.7B | — | 687.5B |
USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.
Trace the inputs
MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD| Input | Value | SEC tag / source | Filed |
|---|---|---|---|
| revenue | 2.4B | RevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax | 2026-02-19 |
| netIncome | 3.4B | ProfitLoss Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests. | 2026-02-19 |
| Parent/common earnings proxy | 3.2B | NetIncomeLossAvailableToCommonStockholdersBasic | 2026-02-19 |
| cfo | 17.1B | NetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities | 2026-02-19 |
| capex | — | Not reported under a supported tag | — |
| operatingIncome | 6.1B | OperatingIncomeLoss | 2026-02-19 |
| assets | 745.2B | Assets | 2026-02-19 |
| equity | 28.7B | StockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests. | 2026-02-19 |
| Parent book equity proxy | 28.4B | StockholdersEquity | 2026-02-19 |
| debt | 14.5B | LongTermDebtAndCapitalLeaseObligationsIncludingCurrentMaturities | 2026-02-19 |
| shortDebt | 355M | ShortTermBorrowings | 2026-02-19 |
| cash | 22B | CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue | 2026-02-19 |
| shares | 673.3M | WeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding | 2026-02-19 |
| dividends | 1.5B | PaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock | 2026-02-19 |
| buybacks | 2.9B | PaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock | 2026-02-19 |
| issuance | — | Not reported under a supported tag | — |