NRG Energy
NRG stock analysis · Utilities · Independent Power Producers & Energy Traders
As of · fund-implied per-share value
Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.
View SEC fund filing ↗Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-06-30. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.
View share-count filing ↗DCF value
Equity cash-flow scenario · SEC outstanding shares at 2026-06-30 · -62.1% versus input cap
How this is calculated ↗Reverse DCF
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Relative valuation
30 sector peers · median 23.2×
How this is calculated ↗Historical multiples
6 annual observations · snapshot P/E 38.5× · 162.2% versus history
How this is calculated ↗Free cash flow yield
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗ROIC / quality
Normalized tax · financing-capital proxy · short-term borrowing coverage incomplete
How this is calculated ↗Value composite
Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.
How this is calculated ↗12–1 price momentum
Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.
How this is calculated ↗Asset growth
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Net payout yield
Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.
How this is calculated ↗Accrual quality
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Fundamental momentum
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Follow the cash
ANNUAL · USDOperating cash flow and reinvestment over time
Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.
Make the assumptions yours
How sensitive is the valuation?
| Return / Growth | 3.0% | 5.0% | 7.0% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8.0% | $69.39 | $75.71 | $82.51 |
| 10.0% | $50.85 | $55.32 | $60.12 |
| 12.0% | $40.11 | $43.53 | $47.19 |
Annual financial history
Open SEC filings ↗| Fiscal year-end | Revenue | Net income | Operating cash flow | Capital expenditure | Assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | 30.3B | 864M | 1.9B | 1.1B | 29.1B |
| 2024-12-31 | 27.7B | 1.1B | 2.3B | 472M | 24B |
| 2023-12-31 | 28.3B | -202M | -221M | 598M | 26B |
| 2022-12-31 | 31.5B | 1.2B | 360M | 367M | 29.1B |
| 2021-12-31 | 26.8B | 2.2B | 493M | 269M | 23.2B |
| 2020-12-31 | 8.7B | 510M | 1.8B | 230M | 14.9B |
| 2019-12-31 | 8B | 4.4B | 1.4B | 228M | 12.5B |
| 2018-12-31 | 8.1B | 268M | 1.4B | 388M | 10.6B |
USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.
Trace the inputs
MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD| Input | Value | SEC tag / source | Filed |
|---|---|---|---|
| revenue | 30.3B | RevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax | 2026-02-24 |
| netIncome | 864M | ProfitLoss Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests. | 2026-02-24 |
| Parent/common earnings proxy | 797M | NetIncomeLossAvailableToCommonStockholdersBasic | 2026-02-24 |
| cfo | 1.9B | NetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities | 2026-02-24 |
| capex | 1.1B | PaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment | 2026-02-24 |
| operatingIncome | 1.8B | OperatingIncomeLoss | 2026-02-24 |
| assets | 29.1B | Assets | 2026-02-24 |
| equity | 1.7B | StockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests. | 2026-02-24 |
| Parent book equity proxy | — | Not reported under a supported tag | — |
| debt | 16.4B | LongTermDebtAndCapitalLeaseObligationsCurrent + LongTermDebtAndCapitalLeaseObligations | 2026-02-24 |
| shortDebt | — | Not reported under a supported tag | — |
| cash | 4.7B | CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue | 2026-02-24 |
| shares | 199M | WeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding | 2026-02-24 |
| dividends | 411M | PaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock | 2026-02-24 |
| buybacks | 1.3B | PaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock | 2026-02-24 |
| issuance | — | Not reported under a supported tag | — |