Norfolk Southern
NSC stock analysis · Industrials · Rail Transportation
As of · fund-implied per-share value
Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.
View SEC fund filing ↗Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-06-30. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.
View share-count filing ↗DCF value
Equity cash-flow scenario · SEC outstanding shares at 2026-06-30 · -53.6% versus input cap
How this is calculated ↗Reverse DCF
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Relative valuation
76 sector peers · median 31.7×
How this is calculated ↗Historical multiples
7 annual observations · snapshot P/E 24.6× · 0.0% versus history
How this is calculated ↗Free cash flow yield
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗ROIC / quality
Normalized tax · financing-capital proxy · parent-equity fallback (scope limitation) · short-term borrowing coverage incomplete
How this is calculated ↗Value composite
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗12–1 price momentum
Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.
How this is calculated ↗Asset growth
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Net payout yield
Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.
How this is calculated ↗Accrual quality
Parent-earnings fallback versus consolidated cash flow · scope limitation
How this is calculated ↗Fundamental momentum
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Follow the cash
ANNUAL · USDOperating cash flow and reinvestment over time
Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.
Make the assumptions yours
How sensitive is the valuation?
| Return / Growth | 3.0% | 5.0% | 7.0% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8.0% | $182.95 | $199.62 | $217.54 |
| 10.0% | $134.07 | $145.86 | $158.53 |
| 12.0% | $105.77 | $114.77 | $124.42 |
Annual financial history
Open SEC filings ↗| Fiscal year-end | Revenue | Net income | Operating cash flow | Capital expenditure | Assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | 12.2B | 2.9B | 4.4B | 2.2B | 45.2B |
| 2024-12-31 | 12.1B | 2.6B | 4.1B | 2.4B | 43.7B |
| 2023-12-31 | 12.2B | 1.8B | 3.2B | 2.3B | 41.7B |
| 2022-12-31 | 12.7B | 3.3B | 4.2B | 1.9B | 38.9B |
| 2021-12-31 | 11.1B | 3B | 4.3B | 1.5B | 38.5B |
| 2020-12-31 | 9.8B | 2B | 3.6B | 1.5B | 38B |
| 2019-12-31 | 11.3B | 2.7B | 3.9B | 2B | 37.9B |
| 2018-12-31 | 11.5B | 2.7B | 3.7B | 2B | 36.2B |
USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.
Trace the inputs
MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD| Input | Value | SEC tag / source | Filed |
|---|---|---|---|
| revenue | 12.2B | RevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax | 2026-02-09 |
| netIncome | 2.9B | NetIncomeLoss Parent-attributable fallback: a verified consolidated total is unavailable in the supported tags. Noncontrolling interests have not been assumed to be zero; this may differ in scope from consolidated cash flow or operating income. | 2026-02-09 |
| Parent/common earnings proxy | 2.9B | NetIncomeLossAvailableToCommonStockholdersBasic | 2026-02-09 |
| cfo | 4.4B | NetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities | 2026-02-09 |
| capex | 2.2B | PaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment | 2026-02-09 |
| operatingIncome | 4.4B | OperatingIncomeLoss | 2026-02-09 |
| assets | 45.2B | Assets | 2026-02-09 |
| equity | 15.5B | StockholdersEquity Parent-attributable fallback: a verified consolidated total is unavailable in the supported tags. Noncontrolling interests have not been assumed to be zero; this may differ in scope from consolidated cash flow or operating income. | 2026-02-09 |
| Parent book equity proxy | 15.5B | StockholdersEquity | 2026-02-09 |
| debt | 17.1B | LongTermDebtAndCapitalLeaseObligationsCurrent + LongTermDebtAndCapitalLeaseObligations | 2026-02-09 |
| shortDebt | — | Not reported under a supported tag | — |
| cash | 1.5B | CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue | 2026-02-09 |
| shares | 225.3M | WeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding | 2026-02-09 |
| dividends | 1.2B | PaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock | 2026-02-09 |
| buybacks | 534M | PaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock | 2026-02-09 |
| issuance | — | Not reported under a supported tag | — |