Fundamentals · 2026-09-09S&P 500ANNUAL BASIS

Northern Trust

NTRS stock analysis · Financials · Asset Management & Custody Banks

FY 2025-12-31ANNUAL FILINGS
Compare ⇄
These are research estimates based on annual filings. Valuation uses a cash-flow proxy and explicit assumptions; prices are not live. Published valuations use annual periods first filed by the price date, with later restatements retained.
Reference share price · USD
$173.84HISTORICAL SNAPSHOT

As of · fund-implied per-share value

Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.

View SEC fund filing ↗
Estimated issuer market cap
$31.8B

Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-06-30. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.

View share-count filing ↗
Valuation

DCF value

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Reverse DCF

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Relative valuation

7.0%

9 industry peers · median 20.1×

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Historical multiples

13.4×

7 annual observations · snapshot P/E 18.8× · 39.8% versus history

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Free cash flow yield

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

ROIC / quality

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Value composite

Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.

Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

12–1 price momentum

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Asset growth

13.9%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Net payout yield

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

Accrual quality

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

Fundamental momentum

Requires two adjacent years of revenue, operating income and cash flow.

Requires two adjacent years of revenue, operating income and cash flow.

How this is calculated ↗

Follow the cash

ANNUAL · USD

Operating cash flow and reinvestment over time

USD · bar maximum 5.5B2020-12-31: cfo $1,896,800,000.002020-12-31: capex $135,800,000.0020202021-12-31: cfo $1,356,000,000.002021-12-31: capex $95,500,000.0020212022-12-31: cfo $2,392,400,000.002022-12-31: capex $128,600,000.0020222023-12-31: cfo $2,625,600,000.002023-12-31: capex $116,500,000.0020232024-12-31: cfo -$486,000,000.00 (negative; lower scale compressed)2024-12-31: capex $101,500,000.0020242025-12-31: cfo $5,533,500,000.002025-12-31: capex $74,000,000.002025
Operating cash flowCapital expenditure

Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.

Make the assumptions yours

Personal inputs stay in this browser. Blank fields retain published inputs. Five-year forecast; zero net borrowing. Required return must exceed terminal growth.

How sensitive is the valuation?

DCF per-share sensitivity · includes reviewed preferred and minority-owner claims · rows: required return · columns: growth
Return / Growth3.0%5.0%7.0%
8.0%
10.0%
12.0%

Annual financial history

Open SEC filings ↗
Fiscal year-endRevenueNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureAssets
2025-12-315B1.7B5.5B74M177.1B
2024-12-314.7B2B-486M101.5M155.5B
2023-12-314.4B1.1B2.6B116.5M150.8B
2022-12-314.4B1.3B2.4B128.6M155B
2021-12-314.4B1.5B1.4B95.5M183.9B
2020-12-314B1.2B1.9B135.8M170B
2019-12-313.9B1.5B2.6B158M136.8B
2018-12-313.8B1.6B1.8B97.6M132.2B

USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.

Trace the inputs

MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD
InputValueSEC tag / sourceFiled
revenue5BRevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax2026-02-24
netIncome1.7BNetIncomeLoss
Parent-attributable fallback: a verified consolidated total is unavailable in the supported tags. Noncontrolling interests have not been assumed to be zero; this may differ in scope from consolidated cash flow or operating income.
2026-02-24
Parent/common earnings proxy1.7BNetIncomeLossAvailableToCommonStockholdersBasic2026-02-24
cfo5.5BNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities2026-02-24
capex74MPaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment2026-02-24
operatingIncomeNot reported under a supported tag
assets177.1BAssets2026-02-24
equity13BStockholdersEquity
Parent-attributable fallback: a verified consolidated total is unavailable in the supported tags. Noncontrolling interests have not been assumed to be zero; this may differ in scope from consolidated cash flow or operating income.
2026-02-24
Parent book equity proxy13BStockholdersEquity2026-02-24
debtNot reported under a supported tag
shortDebtNot reported under a supported tag
cash5.9BCashCashEquivalentsRestrictedCashAndRestrictedCashEquivalents2026-02-24
shares192.2MWeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding2026-02-24
dividends591.6MPaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock2026-02-24
buybacks1.3BPaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock2026-02-24
issuanceNot reported under a supported tag