Principal Financial Group
PFG stock analysis · Financials · Life & Health Insurance
As of · fund-implied per-share value
Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.
View SEC fund filing ↗Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-04-22. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.
View share-count filing ↗DCF value
Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.
How this is calculated ↗Reverse DCF
Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.
How this is calculated ↗Relative valuation
69 sector peers · median 17.0×
How this is calculated ↗Historical multiples
7 annual observations · snapshot P/E 19.6× · 51.9% versus history
How this is calculated ↗Free cash flow yield
Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.
How this is calculated ↗ROIC / quality
Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.
How this is calculated ↗Value composite
Requires three valuation yields and at least five covered sector peers.
How this is calculated ↗12–1 price momentum
Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.
How this is calculated ↗Asset growth
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Net payout yield
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Accrual quality
Generic cash-flow and operating-capital models are not suitable for this sector; specialist bank/insurance or REIT analysis is required.
How this is calculated ↗Fundamental momentum
Requires two adjacent years of revenue, operating income and cash flow.
How this is calculated ↗Follow the cash
ANNUAL · USDOperating cash flow and reinvestment over time
Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.
Make the assumptions yours
How sensitive is the valuation?
| Return / Growth | 3.0% | 5.0% | 7.0% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8.0% | — | — | — |
| 10.0% | — | — | — |
| 12.0% | — | — | — |
Annual financial history
Open SEC filings ↗| Fiscal year-end | Revenue | Net income | Operating cash flow | Capital expenditure | Assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | 15.6B | 1.3B | 4.5B | — | 341.4B |
| 2024-12-31 | 16.1B | 1.6B | 4.6B | — | 313.7B |
| 2023-12-31 | 13.7B | 670.1M | 3.8B | — | 305B |
| 2022-12-31 | 17.5B | 4.8B | 3.2B | — | 290.9B |
| 2021-12-31 | 14.4B | 1.6B | 3.3B | — | 304.7B |
| 2020-12-31 | 14.7B | 1.4B | 3.7B | — | 296.6B |
| 2019-12-31 | 16.2B | 1.4B | 5.5B | — | 276.1B |
| 2018-12-31 | 14.2B | 1.6B | 5.2B | — | 243B |
USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.
Trace the inputs
MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD| Input | Value | SEC tag / source | Filed |
|---|---|---|---|
| revenue | 15.6B | Revenues | 2026-02-18 |
| netIncome | 1.3B | ProfitLoss Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests. | 2026-02-18 |
| Parent/common earnings proxy | 1.2B | NetIncomeLossAvailableToCommonStockholdersBasic | 2026-02-18 |
| cfo | 4.5B | NetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities | 2026-02-18 |
| capex | — | Not reported under a supported tag | — |
| operatingIncome | — | Not reported under a supported tag | — |
| assets | 341.4B | Assets | 2026-02-18 |
| equity | 11.9B | StockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests. | 2026-02-18 |
| Parent book equity proxy | 11.9B | StockholdersEquity | 2026-02-18 |
| debt | 3.9B | LongTermDebt | 2026-02-18 |
| shortDebt | 27.7M | ShortTermBorrowings | 2026-02-18 |
| cash | 4.4B | CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue | 2026-02-18 |
| shares | 225.7M | WeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding | 2026-02-18 |
| dividends | 684M | PaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock | 2026-02-18 |
| buybacks | 902.7M | PaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock | 2026-02-18 |
| issuance | 43.7M | ProceedsFromIssuanceOfCommonStock | 2026-02-18 |