Steel Dynamics
STLD stock analysis · Materials · Steel
As of · fund-implied per-share value
Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.
View SEC fund filing ↗Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-06-30. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.
View share-count filing ↗DCF value
Equity cash-flow scenario · SEC outstanding shares at 2026-06-30 · -76.9% versus input cap
How this is calculated ↗Reverse DCF
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Relative valuation
18 sector peers · median 29.8×
How this is calculated ↗Historical multiples
5 annual observations · snapshot P/E 27.8× · 295.2% versus history
How this is calculated ↗Free cash flow yield
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗ROIC / quality
Normalized tax · financing-capital proxy · short-term borrowing coverage incomplete
How this is calculated ↗Value composite
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗12–1 price momentum
Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.
How this is calculated ↗Asset growth
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Net payout yield
Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.
How this is calculated ↗Accrual quality
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Fundamental momentum
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Follow the cash
ANNUAL · USDOperating cash flow and reinvestment over time
Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.
Make the assumptions yours
How sensitive is the valuation?
| Return / Growth | 3.0% | 5.0% | 7.0% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8.0% | $66.53 | $72.59 | $79.11 |
| 10.0% | $48.75 | $53.04 | $57.65 |
| 12.0% | $38.46 | $41.73 | $45.24 |
Annual financial history
Open SEC filings ↗| Fiscal year-end | Revenue | Net income | Operating cash flow | Capital expenditure | Assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | 18.2B | 1.2B | 1.4B | 948M | 16.4B |
| 2024-12-31 | 17.5B | 1.5B | 1.8B | 1.9B | 14.9B |
| 2023-12-31 | 18.8B | 2.5B | 3.5B | 1.7B | 14.9B |
| 2022-12-31 | 22.3B | 3.9B | 4.5B | 908.9M | 14.2B |
| 2021-12-31 | 18.4B | 3.2B | 2.2B | 1B | 12.5B |
| 2020-12-31 | 9.6B | 570.8M | 987M | 1.2B | 9.3B |
| 2019-12-31 | 10.5B | 677.9M | 1.4B | 451.9M | 8.3B |
| 2018-12-31 | 11.8B | 1.3B | 1.4B | 239.4M | 7.7B |
USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.
Trace the inputs
MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD| Input | Value | SEC tag / source | Filed |
|---|---|---|---|
| revenue | 18.2B | RevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax | 2026-02-27 |
| netIncome | 1.2B | ProfitLoss Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests. | 2026-02-27 |
| Parent/common earnings proxy | 1.2B | NetIncomeLossAvailableToCommonStockholdersBasic | 2026-02-27 |
| cfo | 1.4B | NetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities | 2026-02-27 |
| capex | 948M | PaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment | 2026-02-27 |
| operatingIncome | 1.5B | OperatingIncomeLoss | 2026-02-27 |
| assets | 16.4B | Assets | 2026-02-27 |
| equity | 8.8B | StockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests. | 2026-02-27 |
| Parent book equity proxy | 9B | StockholdersEquity | 2026-02-27 |
| debt | 4.2B | LongTermDebt | 2026-02-27 |
| shortDebt | — | Not reported under a supported tag | — |
| cash | 769.9M | CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue | 2026-02-27 |
| shares | 148.4M | WeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding | 2026-02-27 |
| dividends | 291.2M | PaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock | 2026-02-27 |
| buybacks | 900.9M | PaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock | 2026-02-27 |
| issuance | — | Not reported under a supported tag | — |