Fundamentals · 2026-09-09S&P 500ANNUAL BASIS

Valero Energy

VLO stock analysis · Energy · Oil & Gas Refining & Marketing

FY 2025-12-31ANNUAL FILINGS
Compare ⇄
These are research estimates based on annual filings. Valuation uses a cash-flow proxy and explicit assumptions; prices are not live. Published valuations use annual periods first filed by the price date, with later restatements retained.
Reference share price · USD
$260.44HISTORICAL SNAPSHOT

As of · fund-implied per-share value

Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.

View SEC fund filing ↗
Estimated issuer market cap
$77.3B

Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-04-24. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.

View share-count filing ↗
Cash-flow proxy: excluded reinvestment

This PP&E cash-flow proxy excludes $1.089bn of FY2025 turnaround/catalyst spending and $3m of joint-venture investments. It overstates cash remaining after that spending. Cash flows include consolidated minority-owned entities; this is not an allocation to parent shareholders. Read the cash-flow statement ↗

Valuation

DCF value

$257.29

Equity cash-flow scenario · SEC outstanding shares at 2026-04-24 · -1.2% versus input cap

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Reverse DCF

5.3%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Relative valuation

-38.1%

19 sector peers · median 20.4×

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Historical multiples

13.8×

6 annual observations · snapshot P/E 33.0× · 140.0% versus history

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Free cash flow yield

6.5%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

ROIC / quality

8.2%

Normalized tax · financing-capital proxy · short-term borrowing coverage incomplete

How this is calculated ↗
Valuation

Value composite

34/100

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

12–1 price momentum

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Asset growth

-3.6%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Investment

Net payout yield

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

Requires reported dividends, repurchases and issuance; missing values are not zero.

How this is calculated ↗
Quality

Accrual quality

-6.1%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗
Momentum

Fundamental momentum

-2.1%

Annual basis · read assumptions below

How this is calculated ↗

Follow the cash

ANNUAL · USD

Operating cash flow and reinvestment over time

USD · bar maximum 12.6B2020-12-31: cfo $948,000,000.002020-12-31: capex $2,436,000,000.0020202021-12-31: cfo $5,859,000,000.002021-12-31: capex $2,458,000,000.0020212022-12-31: cfo $12,574,000,000.002022-12-31: capex $2,737,000,000.0020222023-12-31: cfo $9,229,000,000.002023-12-31: capex $911,000,000.0020232024-12-31: cfo $6,683,000,000.002024-12-31: capex $907,000,000.0020242025-12-31: cfo $5,826,000,000.002025-12-31: capex $796,000,000.002025
Operating cash flowCapital expenditure

Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.

Make the assumptions yours

Personal inputs stay in this browser. Blank fields retain published inputs. Five-year forecast; zero net borrowing. Required return must exceed terminal growth.

How sensitive is the valuation?

DCF per-share sensitivity · includes reviewed preferred and minority-owner claims · rows: required return · columns: growth
Return / Growth3.0%5.0%7.0%
8.0%$322.72$352.12$383.73
10.0%$236.48$257.29$279.63
12.0%$186.57$202.44$219.47

Annual financial history

Open SEC filings ↗
Fiscal year-endRevenueNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureAssets
2025-12-31122.7B2.2B5.8B796M58B
2024-12-31129.9B3B6.7B907M60.1B
2023-12-31144.8B9.1B9.2B911M63.1B
2022-12-31176.4B11.9B12.6B2.7B61B
2021-12-31114B1.3B5.9B2.5B57.9B
2020-12-3164.9B-1.1B948M2.4B51.8B
2019-12-31108.3B2.8B5.5B2.8B53.9B
2018-12-31117B3.4B4.4B3.4B50.2B

USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.

Trace the inputs

MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD
InputValueSEC tag / sourceFiled
revenue122.7BRevenueFromContractWithCustomerIncludingAssessedTax2026-02-25
netIncome2.2BProfitLoss
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2026-02-25
Parent/common earnings proxy2.3BNetIncomeLossAvailableToCommonStockholdersBasic2026-02-25
cfo5.8BNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities2026-02-25
capex796MReviewed manual correction
Consolidated cash PP&E on page 78: $719m excluding VIEs + $71m DGD + $6m other VIEs. Includes all consolidated entities. This PP&E-only FCF proxy excludes separately reported $1,089m turnaround/catalyst spending and $3m unconsolidated-joint-venture investments; it overstates cash remaining after those expenditures.
2026-02-25
operatingIncome3.2BOperatingIncomeLoss2026-02-25
assets58BAssets2026-02-25
equity26.6BStockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest
Explicit consolidated amount, including the portion attributable to noncontrolling interests.
2026-02-25
Parent book equity proxy23.7BStockholdersEquity2026-02-25
debt8.3BLongTermDebt2026-02-25
shortDebtNot reported under a supported tag
cash4.7BCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue2026-02-25
shares309MWeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding2026-02-25
dividends1.4BPaymentsOfDividendsCommonStock2026-02-25
buybacks2.6BPaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock2026-02-25
issuanceNot reported under a supported tag