Vertex Pharmaceuticals
VRTX stock analysis · Health Care · Biotechnology
As of · fund-implied per-share value
Fund holding value ÷ shares held. Not a live quote; not adjusted for later stock splits.
View SEC fund filing ↗Price × SEC outstanding shares. Shares measured 2026-06-30. Approximate; share and price dates can differ.
View share-count filing ↗DCF value
Equity cash-flow scenario · SEC outstanding shares at 2026-06-30 · -61.5% versus input cap
How this is calculated ↗Reverse DCF
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Relative valuation
6 industry peers · median 21.5×
How this is calculated ↗Historical multiples
6 annual observations · snapshot P/E 31.8× · 0.7% versus history
How this is calculated ↗Free cash flow yield
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗ROIC / quality
Requires two adjacent years of positive average capital, equity, cash, debt and operating income.
How this is calculated ↗Value composite
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗12–1 price momentum
Split and corporate-action verification is incomplete for these fund observations. Verified adjusted endpoints are required for 12–1 momentum.
How this is calculated ↗Asset growth
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Net payout yield
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Accrual quality
Parent-earnings fallback versus consolidated cash flow · scope limitation
How this is calculated ↗Fundamental momentum
Annual basis · read assumptions below
How this is calculated ↗Follow the cash
ANNUAL · USDOperating cash flow and reinvestment over time
Annual USD. Negative bars use a compressed lower scale. Hover or inspect the financial history table for exact values.
Make the assumptions yours
How sensitive is the valuation?
| Return / Growth | 3.0% | 5.0% | 7.0% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8.0% | $240.16 | $262.04 | $285.56 |
| 10.0% | $175.99 | $191.47 | $208.10 |
| 12.0% | $138.84 | $150.66 | $163.32 |
Annual financial history
Open SEC filings ↗| Fiscal year-end | Revenue | Net income | Operating cash flow | Capital expenditure | Assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | 12B | 4B | 3.6B | 437.6M | 25.6B |
| 2024-12-31 | 11B | -535.6M | -492.6M | 297.7M | 22.5B |
| 2023-12-31 | 9.9B | 3.6B | 3.5B | 200.4M | 22.7B |
| 2022-12-31 | 8.9B | 3.3B | 4.1B | 204.7M | 18.2B |
| 2021-12-31 | 7.6B | 2.3B | 2.6B | 235M | 13.4B |
| 2020-12-31 | 6.2B | 2.7B | 3.3B | 259.8M | 11.8B |
| 2019-12-31 | 4.2B | 1.2B | 1.6B | 75.4M | 8.3B |
| 2018-12-31 | 3B | 2.1B | 1.3B | 95.4M | 6.2B |
USD, abbreviated. Restated annual history; not a point-in-time backtest. Missing values appear as dashes.
Trace the inputs
MODEL ANNUAL PERIOD| Input | Value | SEC tag / source | Filed |
|---|---|---|---|
| revenue | 12B | RevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax | 2026-02-13 |
| netIncome | 4B | NetIncomeLoss Parent-attributable fallback: a verified consolidated total is unavailable in the supported tags. Noncontrolling interests have not been assumed to be zero; this may differ in scope from consolidated cash flow or operating income. | 2026-02-13 |
| Parent/common earnings proxy | 4B | NetIncomeLoss | 2026-02-13 |
| cfo | 3.6B | NetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities | 2026-02-13 |
| capex | 437.6M | PaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment | 2026-02-13 |
| operatingIncome | 4.2B | OperatingIncomeLoss | 2026-02-13 |
| assets | 25.6B | Assets | 2026-02-13 |
| equity | 18.7B | StockholdersEquity Parent-attributable fallback: a verified consolidated total is unavailable in the supported tags. Noncontrolling interests have not been assumed to be zero; this may differ in scope from consolidated cash flow or operating income. | 2026-02-13 |
| Parent book equity proxy | 18.7B | StockholdersEquity | 2026-02-13 |
| debt | — | Not reported under a supported tag | — |
| shortDebt | — | Not reported under a supported tag | — |
| cash | 5.1B | CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue | 2026-02-13 |
| shares | 258M | WeightedAverageNumberOfDilutedSharesOutstanding | 2026-02-13 |
| dividends | 0 | Reviewed manual correction This issuer explicitly confirms in its annual filing that it has never declared or paid cash dividends on its common/capital stock. Reviewed cash-dividend zero, bounded to fiscal period ending 2025-12-31. The exact statement and source filing are retained in the evidence record. This is explicit filing evidence, not an assumption from an absent cash-flow line. Surrounding source passage reviewed as the registrant’s own common-stock policy, not a subsidiary or predecessor statement. | 2026-02-13 |
| buybacks | 2B | PaymentsForRepurchaseOfCommonStock | 2026-02-13 |
| issuance | 127.7M | Reviewed manual correction Bounded FY2025-12-31 consolidated financing-statement extraction. Issuances of common stock under benefit plans: 127700000 USD [us-gaap:ProceedsFromIssuanceOfSharesUnderIncentiveAndShareBasedCompensationPlansIncludingStockOptions]. All 5 financing lines reconcile exactly to reported financing cash flow -2261300000 USD. Cash inflows from common shares, employee plans and option exercises are summed once as displayed on the statement; noncash compensation, withholding payments, preferred and noncontrolling interests are excluded. This review applies only to this issuer and fiscal period. Source limitation: the statement also aggregates other financing cash flows (net 3700000 USD). Their common-equity portion is not separately disclosed here. Issuance is the sum of separately reported common cash-issuance lines, not an independently verified gross total; additional equity flows may be inside those aggregates. | 2026-02-13 |